Ray Fenwick plays on The Amorphous Androgynous album (November 2020)

Ray Fenwick has contributed to the new album ‘We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal’ by The Amorphous Androgynous. 

Described as a symphonic mini album it features Peter Hammill (Van Der Graaf Generator) on vocals alongside a host of musicians including: Paul Weller (piano and guitar), Ray Fenwick (Spencer Davis Group/Ian Gillan) on lead guitar, Brian Hopper (Caravan/Soft Machine) on sax. The Chesterfield Philharmonic Choir and a 25-piece live orchestral string section round out this sumptuously-recorded album.

‘We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal’ opens with the 13-minute epic of the title track (written with Peter Hammill and Paul Weller).

The themes of mortality/immortality are then musically and conceptually catapulted to the far-flung corners of the AA sonic multiverse over 40+ minutes.

Channelling A Space Odyssey, the dystopian choirs and moog of Hymortality crash full-force into the John-Bonham-like drums of The Immortality Break.

Meanwhile, Synthony On A Theme of Mortality lives up to its name, utilizing the classic 70s Yamaha CS80 synth before progressing to a female wailing aria against classic vintage guitar rock.

The whole cosmic trip cascades finally into the harp daydream reverie, choir and romantic strings of Physically I’m Here, Mentally Far, Far Away.

Since the late-1980s producer Garry Cobain has been heavily involved in electronic music, forming The Future Sound of London, and the development of his music coincided with the popular acid house dance culture of the late-1980s/early 1990s.  In the past decade under the title of ‘The Amorphous Androgynous’ he has incorporated progressive rock and psychedelic elements

The album gets a digital release on 21 May 2021.

More information