Rarities 1975-77 Ray Fenwick and Ian Gillan Band (September 2021)


A must for Deep Purple fans, this set draws together demos and rare tracks from the first three albums released by 70’s super group, The Ian Gillan Band.

The album includes tracks from 1976’s ‘Child in Time’ and the following year’s ‘Scarabus’ release along with alternative takes of both “Country Lights” and the title track from the latter album rounded out by six previously unreleased songs.

Known as the jazz rock era to many fans, the line-up varied but vocalist Gillan himself, guitarist Ray Fenwick and drummer Mark Nauseef, bassist John Gustafson and keyboardist Colin Towns were constants augmented by the superb playing of Ian’s fellow Deep Purple member Roger Glover plus two further keyboard players in music everyman Mike Moran and Mickey Lee Soule (ex-Elf and Rainbow).

‘Ian Gillan Band Rarities 1975 1977’ complements three other albums of live, studio out-takes and alternate versions of songs that made the cut for the band’s releases, many of which are today perceived as superior versions of them.

‘Rarities 1975-1977’ is available via Singsong Music.

More information

Video: Live